starting from scratch!

Having lived here 20+ years and had children, animals, trampolines and paddling pools, the time has come to reclaim our garden. It is a fairly standard square of grass with beds down one side and two sheds at the bottom. One wall is the concrete block wall of our neighbours garage which we covered with ivy. This has to go! We also have bamboo which has spread from next door. I understand this is not good and should go too? My main question is where do I start and when?! The grass is horrid, there are a few plants I would like to keep, but a large cherry tree which should also go. Ideally as I am a complete beginner, I would like low maintenance but some colour, is that possible? Oh, and pond would be nice but may be asking too much! Many thanks in advance.

• TootlesTootles Posts: 1,469

Hello 9austin. Sounds like an exciting project ahead of you. Do you want to get rid of the grass or just improve it? If you do want to get rid of it I'd suggest doing it now, or when the ground is still soft, as its a tough job and doing it when the ground is hard and dry will be really tough going. We hired a grass removing machine when we did some of ours but it was still hard work.

Know what you mean about ivy. It's  great coverage but can be very intrusive. You could put up some trellis and grow some climbers. Maybe a rose or a clematis. If you like a bit of colour in winter, a winter flowering jasmine would be nice. Or you could try growing fruit against the wall. Can't remember what the method is but am sure one of the other members will be able to. It's when you span fruit trees by training them across wires. A wisteria might be nice too.

if I were you though I'd start by writing a long list to Santa including a sharp spade, a good fork, some secateurs and some donkey plonk to work into your soil.  I'd also suggest visiting your local garden centre for a few plant ideas.

good luck with it!

• GemmaJFGemmaJF Posts: 1,197