Forum home Fruit & veg

Where to start...

I recently bought a property out in the countryside with rather large garden. I have no experience with gardening so i was hoping to get some tips about where to start.

The last few days i have been digging up weeds and clearing leaves etc just trying to make it look a bit tidier. Tomorrow i thought i could make a start where the previous owners used to grow their fruit and veg. This area is all overgrown and i have no idea where to start with it. Do i need to dig everything up and start over for next year i do i just have to trim things back, any advice would be greatly appreciated as i really have no clue what i'm doing haha

I will see if i can upload some pics tomorrow so you can see what I'm dealing with here.

Thanks

• Alan4711Alan4711 LincolnshirePosts: 1,572

Hi Dan,I think your tidying up is spot on ,we moved here about 12 months ago and still things are shooting up all over the place that we didnt even know was in the garden,   so we photoed them and uploaded them here for info as we went , tidying and weeding can take a long time and thats what we did , we did plant the new fruit trees last year so were all ready to go with a fairly weed free garden and theres no pressure with time or mess to clear up, just deciding how we want OUR new look to be, its quite exiting starting a new garden look now the hard parts out of the way, drawing boards out just want to agree on the new look, and very important we enjoyed almost every second of it and the coffee flowed, now with this weather its coffee and a dram of whiskey in it. Good luck Dan Enjoyimage 

• Busy-LizzieBusy-Lizzie Posts: 14,267

I agree and I think you need to tidy up and weed, take photos, see what happens next year, live with it a bit, then decide what changes you would like to make. You don't know what delights may be planted there yet.

Dordogne and Norfolk