Forum home Problem solving

Too big ideas?

Think this is the right place to post this! Garden novice here! We have a garden around 16ft wide 70ft long but it's too small for all the things I want to do! Around half of the garden is paved - was so when we moved in - and houses a hobby house come potting shed and a greenhouse. There is also a patio with a sitting area. So the main 'garden' part is more like 30ft! We have a dog and young child so we need and want some lawn. This year we have grown mainly flowers but next year we want to grow veg. But the dilemma is we would like to keep chickens, we would also like to incorporate a small pond as well as keeping some wildlife encouraging plants and we also want to grow veg. Is there anyway this could be achieved without everything looking crammed? Or is this a case of wanting too much in too smaller space? Thanks, B

• Hello image I'm the same too, I want chicken etc but decided we don't have enough space. We have a small pond which used to be a roof box that had a broken hinge so we turned the roof box upside down and it's now a natural pond and has been doing fab for a few years, we will now make a bigger natural pond, we have 3 kids so have fenced the pond in. We will do veg in pallets and raised beds.

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 35,672

I had a pond when my girls were young. It's really a question of vigilance and education but a simple fence till they're older is a good backup, or a grill placed on top if the pond isn't too big. You can leave a gap at a shallow entry/exit point for wildlife to get in and out. I moved again last year and I have put in a tiny pond - any pond benefits wildlife so if you can manage it, you'll find it worthwhile image