Forum home The potting shed

Building a potting shed or logcabin for half the price.

Hello, my name is Anthony Fowler and I am new to the forum,i have been gardening for some time, but i love oriental gardens, so this year i rearranged my garden and started laying out an oriental theme.

whilst designing the garden i decided to biuld a logcabin and decking around the carden, and i thought i would write and tell you how i did it.

I have over twenty years of building and Joinery experience so when I decided to build a log cabin I did what most people do and spend hours on the internet looking at different styles, shapes and sizes of cabins.

And yes all seemed to be very expensive for what they were, so I thought how could I build one for less? The first thing I did was research! This was a vital part of the pre-build, as I needed a benchmark.

After searching the internet making a list of how much the cabins sold for retail, I then visited the local garden centres, builders merchants and garden furniture shops I soon realised that for the size I wanted which was a 6mx4m cabin I was looking at a price of around £6000 WOW you might say and so did I.

So what I did was go back to the garden centre, choose which cabin I liked then I took lots of picture of the inside and out paying particular attention to the internal framework, windows, doors and the roof trusses. I then took some measurements just so I could calculate the number of uprights required for the framework inside.

Anyway I purchased all the materials required which will be covered in the eBook later and set about building the cabin, overall the cabin took about two weeks to build on and off and it came in under budget, well when I say under budget it was £3.500 under budget yes that’s right I made it for £2.500 and that includes everything.

So as you can see by the savings it pays to do your research, research is the key.