Forum home Fruit & veg

Female-only flowers on cucumbers

Hey everyone!

I've currently got four cucumber plants growing outdoors in their own large patio tubs and they seem to be doing very well with lots of lush green growth and flowers. The problem is, all the flowers are female. The variety is Amanda F1 and I planted the seeds outside at the beginning of May (probably too soon?). I can't seem to find information that says this is a female-only variety and it seems that the usually problem is one of too many male flowers instead. Has anyone come across the problem of all-female flowers? This is my first year in trying to grow my own veg (all in containters) and it seems a shame to see so many baby cucumbers withering away.

Any advice would be appreciated! Here's a picture, too:

• pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 17,222

Hello chocomog. You are lucky to have an F1 hybrid. These, I am told, are usually all female and do something magical in that they set fruit without pollination. If they are accidentally pollinated the fruits are bitter.

You are doubly lucky because my Crystal Lemon are all producing nothing but male flowers. I have written to Suttons seeds to ask what to do about it.

Enjoy your cuces.image

Apophthegm -  a big word for a small thought.
  • chocomogchocomog Posts: 6

Thanks for the clarification, pansyface! It's good to know that I have a female variety.

Does the fact that the baby cucumbers are withering away indicate some underlying problem, or is it normal while the plants are still fairly young?

• pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 17,222

I'm afraid this is a case of the blind leading the blind. When I went onto the Sutton's website with my problem I saw that they do have a FAO section. You could try that.

Apophthegm -  a big word for a small thought.
  • Lupin 1Lupin 1 Posts: 8,916