Forum home Talkback

Oak Trees

Kathy9Kathy9 Posts: 8

A few years ago I collected a number of acorns while walking in the park and tried to grow them for fun.  As a complete novice I didn't expect them to work and was surprised when they all grew! I gave most to a friend who was growing a wood on her land, and kept two which I foolishly planted in bare ground at the end of my garden, again not really expecting them to 'do'.  They are now taller than I am, and it has occurred to me that although I think our garden can accommodate one of them, it may overshadow my neighbour's garden and also two oak trees is an oak too many!  I would like to transplant them this winter but will this kill them? I had originally thought I could prune them to a manageable size but I now understand if I wanted to do that I would have needed to grow them in a pot.  If I decide to relocate them altogether, would oaks of this size have any value to the council for growing in the park?  Any advice very welcome.  I live in County Down, NI. 

• pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 20,554

Hello Kathy9.

You can certainly dig them up in the winter and move them. Just be sure to dig well away from the trunk - at least as far away as the side branches extend - and dig down as far as you can be bothered to, the deeper the better. You may find that there is a lot of soil that falls off and they don't have enormous roots, but at least you have taken as much as is possible. 

Choose a mild day to do this. Frost and snow are not good for transplanting.

I have done this with young trees. In my younger days I took some to a place in the country and planted them where they wouldn't be dug up or have a road built over them.

You could ask a local school perhaps if they would like one for the children.

Apophthegm -  a big word for a small thought.
  • treehugger80treehugger80 Posts: 1,923