Forum home Plants

When should I plant out my Verbena Bonariensis?

NetfellaNetfella Posts: 54

Hi folks,

It's my first time growing Verbena Bonariensis from seed and I now have quite a few little plants in my greenhouse (pictured below). Is it safe to plant them out this year? Will they survive the winter this young or do they need to be more established first?

Cheers

James

• fidgetbonesfidgetbones Posts: 16,527

I'd pinch out the tops to make them branch and then plant them out as a group.

• Lily 3Lily 3 Posts: 49
    Hi James image I've grown verbena bonariensis a couple of times from seed. A lovely plant and often flowers in its first year. Yep get it out in the garden ( harden off obviously ! ) I agree with fidgetbones, pinching out will help them bush up, but sometimes when I've grown them I've not bothered and they do it any way. The main stem should hopefully send up a nice tall flower stem in the next few weeks so you can have colour from them this year. I think I'm right in remembering ( but other posters please correct me if I'm wrong ) that they like quite well drained soil, don't like to be sat with wet roots. I lost a few over winter both times after growing from seed. And I think it was more the wet than the cold. If anyone else can advise that would be great. Best of luck James image
  • LynLyn Posts: 21,366

Agree with fb, they are tough little wotsits get them out quick and they will flower for you in Sept/oct. Leave them then cut them down after the seeds have dropped or next spring and they will grow to 7ft next year.

Gardening on the wild, windy west side of Dartmoor. 

• NetfellaNetfella Posts: 54