Beginner gardener's query

Hello all,

I am fairly new to gardening and am wondering if some of you might fill me in with an answer to something that has been bending my brain in previous years.

I have only ever really done summer gardening. I let my garden, mainly all pots, die back in Autumn then tidy it up and leave it til Spring.

However, I have recently become a gardening addict! I'm totally loving everything to do with gardening and my yard is adorned with gorgeous pots filled with lovely growing things!

So, this year I am planning to start year-round gardening, with a colourful winter garden and then lots of flowering bulbs in the Spring. I've already ordered a lot of what I want to use. Exciting!

Anyway, what I don't fully understand is this:

All my pots and the little raised bed I have at the end of my yard are currently full of plants. Some are annuals but most are perennials which are obviously going to start shooting up in Spring. Can I plant bulbs in these pots or do I have to have fresh pots for all my bulbs (would be difficult as I haven't the room for both)?

I just don't understand how, if there are flourishing daffodils or crocuses for example in the pot, the newly shooting perennials can come through undisturbed.

Please can you advise? Sorry if I'm being a complete dimwit. Hope I've been able to explain that correctly!

Thanks, Mel

• pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 16,194

Not a dimwit at all.

Firstly, it depends on what size of pots you have and what type of perennial you have planted. You need enough space in the soil to accommodate both plants' roots plus the bulbs.  If your perennials are fussy about soil, acid-loving etc, you might need to check that the bulbs are compatible. 

Then there is the question of feeding. Bulbs need quite a deep planting hole and may or may not need more or less in the way of food supplements than the perennials.