Forum home Fruit & veg

Chilli Seed Swap

• Steve 309Steve 309 Posts: 2,753

I have several different varieties - Cayenne, Jalapeno, Scotch Bonnet and the three that came with the GW offer. Happy to swap but I doubt if any of these are unusual enough for anyone to want them.  Never tried them before.

Interested to learn that they're perennial: I shall certainly be trying to keep some for next year.  Do they need heat or will an unheated greenhouse do?

• Orchid LadyOrchid Lady Posts: 5,800
    I'd like Cayenne and Scotch Bonnet Steve, I'm new to chilli growing this year (thanks to Stacey) so don't mind some 'normal' varieties image At this rate I'll need a dedicated chilli area in the garden too and nit sure where they will all go in winter??
  • ClaringtonClarington Posts: 4,949
    (OL I'm putting up a new greenhouse just for the chillies!)

I'm hoping my chilli willies will flower soon. Nothing extra special just amusing!
  • Orchid LadyOrchid Lady Posts: 5,800
    I saw those in Barcelona Clari, my boys made me take a picture if the seed packet and there was also another packet of 'female' seeds......all 3 of my boys thought they were hilarious.....boys!!!
  • Steve 309Steve 309 Posts: 2,753

The first ones are just starting to flower now (in the greenhouse) so I'm hoping to get some decent fruit this year.  Last year they were sown later and I had to harvest most of them green so presumably the seeds weren't ripe.  I'll post when I have some red ones and, OL, if you pm me your address I can send some.

• ObelixxObelixx Posts: 28,794

I am growing Hungarian Black, Bulgarian Carrot, Spanish Padron and Basket of Fire.   They're all a bit slow after being battered to bits by a hail storm during Chelsea week but, when they do get as far as flowering and fruiting, I'll be happy to save seeds for swapping.   I'm not interested in macho volcanic varieties though as I like to taste my food and not have my palate anaesthetised.

Vendée - 20kms from Atlantic coast.