mosquito larvae

Hi, I'm new to wildlife gardening and we've just built a pond using liner where the old pond used to be. Newts that had been living in the damp ground in ornamental grasses have taken up residence along with the tadpoles we saved from the old pond (read puddle/mud patch) and raised in a temporary "pond" made with large plastic storage box.

When I came to buy plants for the pond I did lots of reading and purchased native plants from reputable suppliers online. However, it didn't occur to me to quarantine the first batch of plants and within two days of putting them in the pond I spotted insect larvae on the surface. More searching the internet and calls to supplier suggests these are mosquito larvae. I did quarantine the second lot of plants I received from another reputable supplier and within hours there were similar larvae in the quarantine bucket.

Neither supplier was keen to acknowledge that the eggs were transported on the plants, but the pond was fine for three or four weeks before the plants went in. My question is, is it something I should expect with all plants I buy like this? Are they all going to arrive with unwanted hitch hikers? And is that something other pond owners find ?

Oh, and what, if anything, should I do about it?

I don't want to introduce fish to the pond as I've heard that's not a good idea if we want the amphibians to breed successfully, but any comments about that would also be welcome. Thanks in advance image

• nutcutletnutcutlet PeterboroughPosts: 26,087

Mozzies are wildlife. Lots of things eat their larvae including newts.

They may have come with the plants, the eggs may have been laid in your pond.

It all part of the big wild life worldimage

If you want a wildlife pond you need to accept all the tenants

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 58,414