Hello - Total Novice - Please Help

Hi everybody - looks like a great site and a helpful community. This is my first post.

I will be moving house middle August and for the first time (sort of) I have a garden !!

But, I seriously know very little and will probably ask some really dumb questions.

I will try to 'search' out the info I am after before creating a previously covered topic.

The graden generally is a bit soul - less at present but its neat and tidy. Front garden has two patches of lawn with a a raised border area with nothing currently in it.

The back garden is basically a rectangle of lawn  approx 30 mts x 10 with a patio area at the back door, a lovely drystane dyke going down it's length on one side and a good sized shed. I really just want to humanise it gradually over time.

First thing I would like to do is plan (not plant just yet) a climbing rose (or similar) across the east facing gable end of the cottage.

Question 1 : what kind of rose / plant (names) ? would be suitable and when to purchase / plant ?

I assume I will need some kind of trellis fixed to the gable wall ?

Question 2 : similar to the above. I plan to erect a trellis wall to screen off an outside dining area (front garden south facing). The trellis will be approx 1.5mts off the ground and 3.5 / 4mts long.

In front of this trellis fence I intend to have a selection of planters to aid the screening effect and to add interest and colour. I was wondering what 'climbers' would be a good bet for this purpose ie. the 'main' screening plant. Something fast growing, colourful but not too dense foliage. Clematis ??

This climber will need to live in a planter in all probability.

Thanks in advance - any help / advice greatly received.

Andy

• ClaringtonClarington Posts: 4,949

Welcome to the Forum. Most of us started here as complete newbies asking very very silly questions so don't feel embarrassed image

• bekkie hughesbekkie hughes Posts: 5,294
    Hi, welcome, what an exciting time!