Forum home Plants

Tall dahlias in pots for slug protection?

This is my first year planting dahlias and wondered if for slug protection, I could plant tubers for 5 foot tall dahlias, in large plastic pots partially sunk in the flower bed with copper tape around the top edge of the pot. This works well for 6' tall sunflowers. I don't know how tubers work in the ground. Do they send out roots or fungal connections that require lots of space around the tuber? If they do then I expect a pot may be too restrictive. I will be feeding the dahlias regularly, so would pots be OK?

• BiljeBilje Posts: 725

I grow a fair number of dahlias mostly in borders. I find if they are started in pots and planted out when well grown the spuds/snails don't bother them. I have trouble if I leave tubers in the ground the slugs like the newly sprouted shoots. If you do grow in a large pot keep it well fed, tomato fertiliser 3 times a month and keep well watered. They are thirsty greedy plants.

They produce roots from the tuber and the tuber increases in size over the summer. Hope this helps.

• Zoomer44Zoomer44 Posts: 3,267

I grew a 'Sir Alf Ramsey' in a trough last year with other plants. The trough was possibly 30cm deep, it reached a height of about 4ft and needed support but produced a couple of huge flower heads. 

Agree with Bilje, they do need alot of water. I fed mine on home made seaweed feed. When dug up at the end of the summer the roots had taken over most of the trough and the tuber, as one would expect, was very large. 

Slugs shouldn't be a problem once the plant is well established. Copper is a well known slug/snail deterent, putting gravel as a mulch around potted plants acts as a further deterent and will help retain moisture in the compost.     

With the correct care and attention, most things can be grown in pots... I'm sure someone will be long now with a list of stuff which can't image