Forum home Problem solving

Rosemary and Water

Hello all,

I've been growing rosemary in pots for a few years now and I have several, some of which are cuttings or layers that I made myself from my original stock.  I've always found rosemary to be fairly temperamental. My lavenders for example tend to grow without any problems under a similar regime. I've always thought that rosemary was supposed to be kept on the dry side, but I think that this has sometimes led me to underwater. They never die on me, but I don't feel that they're really at their best either.

So to my specific question. Some of the older leaves on some of my rosemaries are turning yellow particularly at the tips in a way that doesn't look particularly healthy, something which has happened before. Meanwhile some of the newer leaves on another plant have developed black tips. I'm guessing that the yellow may mean underwatering and the black may mean overwatering, but wondered if anyone else had a view on this.

Otherwise everything looks reasonable healthy with some new growth this year on every plant. The plant with the black tips is a young plant that I'm trying to train into a standard while the rest are more established plants of various ages. I feed them once or twice a year and they're in a fairly poor soil with added sand, grit and perlite for drainage. They were fleeced in the winter, and had their pots bubble-wrapped, and there was no obvious winter damage when I opened them up.

Any ideas or comments would be very gratefully received.

Owen.

• treehugger80treehugger80 Posts: 1,915

might possibly need feeding?, how long has it been in the pot?

in general when I water I only do it if there's been a week without rain, then I give mine a good soaking (their in pots too) and leave for another week, they're Mediterranean plants so can cope with dry OK.

alternatively the black tips might be frost damage? the young shoots of totally hardy plants can get nipped by a late frost.