Forum home Fruit & veg

Is Vermiculite dangerous

Hi all i was just wanting to know if Vermiculite is safe to use for growing vegetables.I was told it contains asbestos.Im almost new to gardening..Ive been gardening for just over 2 years but never used the stuff lol i have normally used grit but have seen alot of gardeners using vermiculite and perlite

• sotongeoffsotongeoff Posts: 9,802

I have never head about the asbestos connection-in my opinion if it were a danger then it would not be made freely available-and it is.

This explains more

http://www.thegardensuperstore.co.uk/acatalog/Vermiculite_in_the_Garden.html

• Paul NPaul N Bearsted, KentPosts: 300

Only if you try to eat itimage

• Gary HobsonGary Hobson Posts: 1,892

I do use Vermiculite myself. I use it to cover germinating seeds.

I had never heard of any connection with asbestos. Although, on reflection, Vermiculite is quite dusty, as you handle it.

I'm no expert on asbestos, and related issues.

However, I found this on the web:

"Mesothelioma [an aggressive cancer that is known only to be caused by asbestos exposure] incidence is also known to be high in commercial gardeners and other occupations which deal with large amounts of loose vermiculite. Note the appearance of the vermiculite. If it seems to carry a great deal of residual dust, dispose of it outdoors. Read the label as most manufacturers of vermiculite mark their products packaging with “Non Dusty” labels. Based on current information, there is no evidence that vermiculite currently available for horticultural purposes (e.g. potting plants) is a health risk when used as directed."

I suppose that the key phrase is 'when used as directed'.

So don't shake up a bag in a confined space, and then breathe the stuff.

• granmagranma Posts: 1,903