What's eaten my brocollii, cabbage and cauli

Any ideas what has do e this to my new plants and what can I do to prevent it.

i assume the ones in the ground will not recover?? 

Many thanks in advance 

• Orchid LadyOrchid Lady Posts: 5,800

Mine did exactly the same on previous attempts, so far so good this time though.  From what I have read on here it may be Cabbage White butterflies, I had no idea they could do so much damage until I read it in here.  I think (but someone may correct me)  you need to cover with net, not sure about whether they will recover??

I'm still quite new to gardening so no doubt someone else will come along with more advice for you (and me image).

• BobTheGardenerBobTheGardener LeicsPosts: 6,473

That looks very much like woodpigeon damage to me.  Do you have those in your area?  If so, the only prevention is netting.  Without nets, they have devastated my brassicas in the past.

A trowel in the hand is worth a thousand lost under a bush.
  • We do have a lot of pigeons, there is no physical evidence of caterpillars, so it could well be those 

• scrogginscroggin Posts: 2,071

I would guess at pigeons too, they make a real mess of cabbages, very disheartening, but its a lesson we've all learnt by painful experience.

I use scaffold debris netting, its fine enough to keep out the butterflies too, if you buy it in a roll it works out quite reasonable and lasts for years.

You can make hoops from the 20mm blue flexible water piping to support the netting.

• Busy Bee2Busy Bee2 Posts: 1,005

I haven't grown brassicas for years, but so far this seems to be working, but it doesn't make for a very attractive garden, but it's quick and easy if you have some plastic bottles to hand.  I presume that when the leaves get bigger they are less tasty to the birds, but think I might be tempted to get netting to protect against the cabbage whites. 

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 43,619