Volunteer Work

Thought i would share some pictures of my volunteering work,today we were tidying up an old cemetery in Middleton Lancashire.

These pictures show the over grown cemetery.

Tackling the previous treat Japanese knotweed roots was not fun.

Some graft put in as we start to unearth the grave stones.

And these completed ones makes the hard graft all worth will image

Most of head stones are dated as far back as the 18th century it was fascinating and really sad at the same time the whole cemetery left untouched for years.

• Verdun its a long story so I will keep it short,I came out of work a couple of years ago due to a muscle disease disability all my life I have been a hands on mechanic, sitting at home month after month made my condition worse so I decided to look into volunteering work or a hobbie to keep me active a few days a week I found out about the green ranger volunteers and what they do said to myself I will give it try loved it from the start helping nature & wildlife felt good then I decided I would start gardening as a hobby sort of killed two birds with one stone plus the things I am learning volunteering are coming in handy gaining experience to take back home in the garden.I am now at one with nature and got the green finger bug image
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 23,916

What a lovely story Mikey image

I know many people find cemeteries and graveyards a bit forbidding and scary but I actually quite like them, even though I get upset going there. The one I visit is where my niece is buried and some of my parents ashes are scattered on the grave. It's very well kept and I find it very sad seeing them in such a state of neglect so what you're doing is wonderful. I hope you continue to get so much out of it.

And somewhere on the hill
    Inside the past we hear the bells
    Catching only parts of thoughts
    And fragments of ourselves
    Till we begin
    Again

• artjakartjak Posts: 4,168