Forum home Fruit & veg
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Growing from seed

Can anyone help this is my first year at trying to grow veg, I have bought seed trays with plastic tops and compost for seedlings I planted my seeds last Thursday and already my purple sprouts and yellow courgettes are up but the row where the carrots are is now covered by a white fur this has spread around the sprout seedlings will this hurt the veg and how can I get rid of it?? I am watering them with a spray gun and mist the soil carefully to prevent overwatering don't know if this is the correct way? Also do I prick them out when there second leaves appear like flower seeds?? And should the plastic lid still be on??image

• Hi, little bee.....fraid this seems like too much water in the compost.....it won't harm your seedlings as such, but do let the compost dry out a little.

IMHO, more seedlings are killed by too much water than by all other issues combined........careful with the soil moisture level, it really is that simple.

I know achieving the right moisture level is difficult when you first set out, so I would suggest investing in a moisture meter until you get the hang of it....they're very cheap.

• Steve 309Steve 309 Posts: 2,753

Certainly take off the lid when the shoots appear.  As soon as they have roots (which have generally grown before the shoots) they can absorb water from only slighty moist compost/soil so there's no need to drown them!

In fact, it may be better to water them from below, by standing the pots/tray in a shallow dish of water for a few minutes every few days, if it looks like they need it.

The white furry stuff is a fungus (mould) which is not what you want - it may kill the little darlings, and it's caused by too much water.  So keep them just slightly moist.

Good luck.