Forum home Wildlife gardening

school pond - what to do ?

We have a school pond, that looks like it has very little life in it and is looking very unloved.  I'm not sure it has been touched for years.  

Where to start, I have no pond experience ?  Any advice gratefully received.  Obviously funds will be limited and will boil down to getting parents to muck in and help where they can. 

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 58,830

Bumping image

“I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• Jim MacdJim Macd Posts: 750

Bumping again spammers still above don't reply to spammers. image

• Dave MorganDave Morgan Posts: 3,123

First thing you need to do is empty it.Then test the integrity of the liner. Is it filling to the top or leaking? If it's leaking you need a new liner. If you need a new liner you'll have to lift the edging stones, lay the new liner then re-cement the edging in place.

Make sure its not leaking before you replace the edging.

While the pond is empty look for shelving as this is where your pond plants will go.

Whilst the pond is empty save some of the sludge at the bottom of the pond as this contains all the organisms which give the pond it's natural balance. You'll only need half a bucket of sludge, so don't e tempted to save the lot.

When your'e happy it's water tight, refill, pop the sludge in and leave it for a few weeks to settle.

You can put your water plants in as soon as you fill the pond, this will help the pond cycle to start.

Keep checking the pond every few days and you'll quickly see life arriving, it can happen in days. 

It's not a hugely technical job, but it can involve some some muscle.

I can't see properly the mini ponds at the top of the picture, but one seems to be a blue container of some sort. Again you need to check it's water tight. If not replace container and check again. Same procedure as before.