Forum home The potting shed

Heated Propagators

• artjakartjak Posts: 4,167

I agree about Greedy Nursery.com selling seedlings that are quite inappropriate for this time of year; BUT must differ about the heated propagator. I only bought one in February, wish I had bought it to get Aubergines and Peppers started off in January. I DO have a heated greenhouse (with just a frost buster type heater) and a conservatory that is unheated, but the boiler is in there. It , along with the g/h which is in it's 2nd year has revolutionised my gardening, am starting to understand far more about germination and ongoing cultivation.

I am not a beginner, but over the years have suffered so much disapointment from seeds not germinating through lack of heat, that I would recommend a heated propagator, mine does NOT have a thermostat, but gets switched off every morning (one could have it on a time switch) and any of the containers that show signs of growth; the ventilator gets opened.

In short, I am thrilled with my new toyimage

• philippasmith2philippasmith2 Posts: 8,485

Artjac...........I think we need to differentiate between "heated" g/h and a "frost free" g/h......... a permanently heated g/h (hot water pipes via a boiler ) gives far more options but sadly these days is not an option for the average gardener.  I enjoyed mine for several years....the range of stuff you can grow  is quite staggering.image

ph2, for the purposes of this discussion, a frost free g/h gives one the option of nurturing seedlings that have outgrown the heated propagator.image

Artjac..........I take your point  image   But new gardeners can't always differentiate between the two.  Got carried away is my excuseimage