Forum home Talkback

Seedling help needed

I am new to all of this and first time sowing

I sowed Toadflax and Cosmos, the cosmos seem to be doing so much better than than the toadflaxwhich i hope i can post the pic  

• Wendy 11Wendy 11 Posts: 28

Cosmos is top one sowed a week later. When do i need to transfer any healthy ones pots, as the cosmos are getting quiet big, they are around 3 days old.

Can anyone advise me please?

• Ashleigh 2Ashleigh 2 Posts: 256

Hi Wendy, I have Cosmos seedlings that look exactly like yours and am also wondering if I should pot them on but I wouldn't worry about the toadflax, different seeds germinate at different ratesimage

Oh lets hope someone can advise, as no idea when they should be potted image

• Wendy 11 wrote (see)

Oh lets hope someone can advise, as no idea when they should be potted image

Wendy - you can prick them out singly into small (3 inch) pots of multipurpose compost as soon as the seedlings are large enough to handle. Always hold the young seedlings by their leaves never by their stems. Grow on the small pots until the roots are well established in a coldframe/minigreenhouse before either planting out in the open soil or in a larger container. Let me know how you get on. All the best.

• Shoz2Shoz2 Posts: 15

Really need to wait til they have another set of leaves apart from their baby ones, wont be long now!

• nutcutletnutcutlet PeterboroughPosts: 26,569

Don't rush, cosmos can't go out yet and when you get then into individual pots you'll need a larger house to get enough windowsills. 

It's a bit early.

• Busy Bee2Busy Bee2 Posts: 1,005

If you need to get them out a bit early, you can make mini cloches out of water bottles and they do well under them from April onwards, then remove once all danger of frost is past. 

• LynLyn DevonPosts: 20,607