Forum home Problem solving

Stagnant rain water

Hi all, new member here!

Wondering if someone could please help with a new problem. Just had a patio laid. I requested two planting trenches for some herbs. Unfortunately one of them has water stagnating in it after the heavy rains while the other, about 60cms away, is fine.

I tried digging it out a bit thinking it was hardcore but not so sure as the fork does not appear to hit anything sold. Family suggest that we make it into a water feature but I am not so sure about the hygeine of stagnant water. Does anyone have any ideas on what the problem might be and how I can resolve it? Clay soil. Pic insertedThank you very much. 

• Busy-LizzieBusy-Lizzie Posts: 21,670

How deep can you dig? Is the rest of your garden very wet after all the rain? It could get better with some dry weather. I'm not an expert on this sort of thing, but I wanted to move your question up so the evening arrivals would see it.

I wonder if you could put drainage pipes in it. It's probably just that the clay is very thick.

Dordogne and Norfolk. Clay in Dordogne, sandy in Norfolk.
  • artjakartjak Posts: 4,167

It could be a 'clay pan'. That is a layer of pretty solid clay in a particular area. I found one about 18" down when planting a rose, it makes it almost impossible for water to drain away. A friend in Wales found the same thing when digging to make a pond; she almost didn't need a liner. Could you try drilling down with a huge masonry bit? Or try to make some kind of hole in it as it may not be that thick a layer?

Keep us posted, as I am sure other people will have come across this also.image

• nutcutletnutcutlet Posts: 27,148

I can't see how the levels work. Is the hole  below the level of the garden on the other side of the wall?

In the sticks near Peterborough
  • Mrs GMrs G Posts: 336