Design student looking for help!

Hi, I'm a design student in the UK and my latest project has led me to design around gardening, specifically the redesign of the watering can. 

I was just wondering if you had any insights as to how you think it could be improved? Currently my idea is to a attach a spray nozzel to the spout so that, with the squeeze of a trigger, a spray of water comes out for watering leaves and more delicate flowers. But being a novice gardener I have no idea as to wether this is helpful to people like you, so I was just hoping for some input.

Thanks,

Caleb

• ClaringtonClarington Posts: 4,949

You mean like this? (Random picture off the internet)

http://www.thegreenhead.com/imgs/xl/mist-n-pour-two-in-one-watering-can-spray-bottle-xl.jpg

• fidgetbonesfidgetbones Posts: 13,892

My OH thinks that watering cans should have a little ladder on the inside, so when a mouse drops in, it can climb out and not drown. We've had two drown so far this year. They tend to clog up the spout.

You don't stop doing new things because you get old, you get old because you stop doing new things. <3
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 58,414

Caleb - we rarely need to water the leaves or flowers of garden plants - that isn't good for them - it's the soil around the roots that needs the water.  Water on the leaves can cause scorch-marks when the sun shines, and watering the flowers can also damage them.

What I would find useful is a transparent watering with litres and millilitres etc marked clearly (like my kitchen measuring jug) so that when I'm adding something like soluble potash to the water to be watered into the soil, I can be more accurate if I want to use smaller amounts of water.  

At the moment my watering cans hold about 2.5 litres of water each (I think) and I have to guess if I'm using small amounts of soluble fertiliser, or mix it in a kitchen measuring jug then tip it into the watering can.