Forum home Garden design

How to hide neighbours house

Hi, I've not posted on here before and I'm relatively new to gardening. My garden was a blank slate 3 years ago when we moved in and I am slowly trying to make it more interesting. The house is a Victorian terrace and the garden is 16ft wide and 85ft long with gardens either side. My neighbour on the left is a keen gardener so I don't want to plant anything that would upset her borders. The problem I have is that at the end of the garden they built a house side on to us and from our patio it looks like a giant tombstone! In an ideal world I would love some tall trees to cover it up, but between the end of our garden and there house is only a pathway width. So big trees would probably ruin their foundations. I would be very grateful for any advice, thank you.

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 46,404

It's a common problem Laura. I'd say that if you want to plant trees - go ahead. It would only be an issue if there's anything in your deeds saying you can't. Alternatively, if you create some interesting planting, further forward from your boundary, perhaps around 15/20 feet, it can take the focus away from the wall.  It would leave you room to put compost bins, sheds and all the other stuff we gardeners need room for, at the back of the garden out of sight. You would be creating a false end to your garden without sacrificing the space. 

Hope that's of some help image

It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• Thank you, that's a nice idea I hadn't thought of. I do love hiding all the ugly things too.

Would you have any suggestions for trees?
  • fidgetbonesfidgetbones Posts: 15,873