Composting leaves

I'm brand new to gardening having just purchased my first house and intend to work hard next summer on making my garden great. I have cut back all the overgrown bushes and I keep clearing my lawn of leaves that fall with the intention of using them as compost.

My question is how to best compost the garden waste I have gathered, I now have two builders 1 ton sand bags full of mainly leaves with some chipped bushes. Should I just leave it now until the summer or do I need to work on it?

• fidgetbonesfidgetbones Posts: 13,900

It might be ready for next summer, but more likely the following year. Make sure you keep it moist. If the leaves dry out , they won't break down as fast. Normal chipped garden waste I would put in a compost  bin. If you keep turning it, it will compost faster.

You don't stop doing new things because you get old, you get old because you stop doing new things. <3
  • Thanks, I'm going to need a large compost bin, I might build one!

• fidgetbonesfidgetbones Posts: 13,900

I filled two builders bags with oak leaves last year, they went down by half and I have combined the two bags into one this year. They aren't ready yet to use.  

I mix shreddings with grass cuttings in a compost heap and water with dilute urine as activator. Compost needs more turning than leaf mould.

You don't stop doing new things because you get old, you get old because you stop doing new things. <3
  • Rosie31Rosie31 Posts: 483

My leaves are a mixture of oak, beech, birch and hazel.  They go into a leaf bin and get left alone for a year.  At the end of a year they aren't exactly crumbly compost, but they are fine for spreading on my borders as a mulch to protect bulbs over the winter.

If I leave them for two years they go all lovely and crumbly and good for potting compost.