Welcome to the potting shed

• cilmericilmeri Posts: 116

Derek Hi, Many thanks for this...extremely useful. image

Sizing up the border as we speak, Looks lik;ey to be sunday before I can make a start.

• cilmericilmeri Posts: 116

image Rosa, Hi, your method is the way i usually do it but as i want to plant soon(ish) i think that 'burying' the compost will suit better this time paticularly as it is a full lenth border.Will avoid disturbing the soil again for other plantings.

• Hi all, I'm a newbie, but already given out my pen'orth! 

Did you watch GW this evening?  I was astounded to watch Monty Don turn a potted plant out into his hand and just plant it in the hole, back fill and walk off.  The plant was really pot-bound, just a mass of roots and he did not cut/break open the sides/base at all, he dropped the plant in (no base dressing I suspect but maybe bed was recently treated to his chicken manure) and left it, no watering to get rid of air pockets, and to get good root contact.  I missed what the plant was but as an example to beginners/learners of how to plant I think it was far short of a model method.

• Welcome, Salli. Watched GW yesterday with half an eye because it did not seem that inspiring. I'll watch it again on Sunday morning when I'm more alert. Perhaps I was just tired.

I'm more interested in the Welsh spelling of your name, Salli. Your background sounds really interesting and I see that you live in Wiltshire.

• zinnia66zinnia66 Posts: 6

Is it safe to plant Busy Lizzies this year, until three years ago when they all died within a week, because of a desease affecting them, i used to have lovely pots of them. Now i can't find out if it is now safe to plant them again.

• zinnia66 wrote (see)

Is it safe to plant Busy Lizzies this year, until three years ago when they all died within a week, because of a desease affecting them, i used to have lovely pots of them. Now i can't find out if it is now safe to plant them again.