Forum home Talkback

Talkback: Growing veg in containers - garden pests

• I have just found this blog which really seems to be buzzing and intend to stay. I didn't know about the essential oils and so will take that on board. Thanks. I too bought a buddleia bush but the flowers are not there yet and some of the bottom leaves are a bit yellow so I am unsure whether it is too wet or too dry. Complete beginner I'm afraid. I live in Ireland and the weather can be very troublesome so we are a bit behind I think. Also living here with all this rain we could have a constant slug party. I am forever checking the cabbage at the mo but they do sometimes beat me.
  • Thanks for all the tips etc. Has anyone any suggestions on dealing with earwigs? They are eating my lettuces to bits.
  • I have noticed that my cranebill(with purple flowers) have finish flowering. It has taken over a large area, tne leaves look as if something is drilling little holes. I am going to cut them back. What insect is causing it? Can anyone help?
  • Hi we got an allotment this year and ive started growing carrots whilst i was wattering ive noticed what looks like tiny brown eggs on the edges of the leaves ive looked at alot of sites about pests and alot of them are just about carrot root fly and i cant see anything like what i have got can anybody help?
  • Hi All,