Mulch or fleece for the winter

I am now in my 3rd year of gardening and I saw in The Lady that we are in for a very hard winter starting on Boxing Day and some people tell me to put more mulch or strulch round my plants and others say lay fleece around them.

Can I ask what people do, if anything, to keep their play warm and when do you do it?

• BerghillBerghill Posts: 2,826

Absolutely nothing. If the plants cannot survive even the harshest winter then we do not grow them. Best option is a really deep mulch of almost anything. At least that looks better than fleeece.

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 43,623

I wonder what information The Lady is basing its prediction on - forecasts further ahead that 30 days are even more unreliable than the usual weather forercasts.

Some people are saying that we're in for a hard winter because of the good crop of hips and haws in the hedgerows.  In my opinion this is more likely to be the result of a good summer, rather than indicative of the trees' ability to predict the future. image

If we get warning of an imminent cold snap then I'll increase the  fleece around my fig tree and bubblewrap the cuttings and perennials in the growhouse.  

To do this earlier and in mild weather would be to risk moulds and botrytis affecting them.

Hardy perennials in the garden will have to take their chance as they did last winter.  They survived nearly 3 months of being buried under snow then. image

No-one knows if you've done your housework, but everyone knows if you've done your gardening !
  • chickychicky SurreyPosts: 7,193
    I'm planning to mulch my borders when i do the big cut down this autumn. Can i just spread a layer all over or do i have to leave "breathing spaces" around the crowns of the perennials that have died down ??
    The Stone Age didn’t end because they ran out of stones ......
  • ObelixxObelixx Posts: 10,626

I agree with Berghill about growing what does well.