Forum home Talkback
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Talkback: Harlequin ladybirds

Thanks for that observation, Pippa. Have likewise noticed the number of Harlequins hibernating in our large conservatory window frames. Bit of a slob though, and haven't dusted for a while but now you have given me a genuine gardening related reason for donning those marigolds and getting out the feather duster!!
Will get back to you.....

• As this species originated in Siberia amongst other places, I doubt it is the cold alone that is killing them.
  • I have exactly the same problem of ladybirds on my windoill since last couple of years. I keep vaccuming but they keep flourishing. Like Pippa I am not good at killing anything. Idon't know how to get rid of them.
  • i was reading all the above last night and today while i was cleaning the windows,i found 4 dead ladybirds they look like the picture you have showing,they were in the seals of the windows and 1 was in the seal of the back door......why didnt they go to there lady bug hotel that we have around the garden is it because the doors/windows are warmer and dry.
  • I have a herd of ladybirds in my bedroom. They're quite active, walking around the window, across the ceiling and sometimes on the bed. I think they're harlequins though I'm not sure, but they're certainly still feeding. I have a pot of Stevia, a herb, overwintering by the window, and was horrified to find it smothered in aphids a while ago. Then the ladybirds arrived and hey presto! no aphids. They did a similar job on my aubergines in the greenhouse last summer, dealing with a heavy infestation on 15 plants. (I like aubergines!) I know they're a threat to our natives but it's hard to complain when they help me out so efficiently.