clematis in need of identification

Could someone enlighten me on the name of this clematis which was left in a corner of my potager in a small pot for me to find by one of the many visitors to my garden?  I did recognise it as a climber, put it in a big pot with a stake and put it under my Fuchsia magellanica to shade its roots, then forgot it was there and now its purple flowers with pale green middles are scrambling through the big fuchsia bush and I cannot tell my visitors its name because no one has owned up to leaving it for me.

• chickychicky SurreyPosts: 7,198
    Its a beautiful colour ! I don't know it, but there are a number of clematis id sites on the internet - i use one called " clematis on the web"
    The Stone Age didn’t end because they ran out of stones ......
  • waterbuttswaterbutts Posts: 1,221

Could it be Polish Spirit? I'm no clemaris expert but it looks like something that I have  always taken to be Polish Spirit.

• Thank you, waterbutts.  That looks like it.  I shall now label it.  It is very pretty.

Ours has hundreds and hundreds of flowers on right now. The plant is more purple than it is greenimage

• BobTheGardenerBobTheGardener LeicsPosts: 6,484

I'd agree with Polish spirit which I also have - it's a Group 3 and a 'good doer'.  I cut mine back to about 30cm every Spring - grows back to about 3-4m and gets absolutely covered in flowers. image

A trowel in the hand is worth a thousand lost under a bush.
  • Wow, now was that not a lovely present to leave me in my potager?  It does have loads of flowers on it still in bud so, if the weather staysbenign the fuchsia is going to be a riot of red and purple for a good few week's yet.

• chickychicky SurreyPosts: 7,198