Forum home Garden design

Thoughts on a uPVC Greenhouse

Hi gardeners. I am a novice gardener and this is my first post so please bear with me.  

I have moved house and now have space for a greenhouse. It can only go in one location - south facing next to a farmers field so quite exposed (the north side of the greenhouse will be a wooden summer house). I am not sure what type of greenhouse to get.

My husband isn't overly keen on the aluminium greenhouses.  I think partly due to memories of his Nan's rickety old greenhouse.  I'm not bothered what we have as I'm just so excited to be getting a greenhouse!  We have looked at wooden greenhouses but we are concerned about the maintenance that may come with a wooden greenhouse and although they are beautiful, I am conscious you won't actually see the greenhouse from the house.

We did not have space for a greenhouse at our last house but we had a small conservatory, which is where I used to start my seeds off and I grew tomatoes. It got us thinking about a uPVC greenhouse (like I said, please bear with me!) We like the idea of the minimal maintenance and thought double glazing would help keep it warmer in winter and cooler in summer.  However it soon became apparent when starting our research that this isn't really a 'thing'.

So....are we completely crackers for even contemplating this and have we missed an obvious flaw?  Or, despite being unconventional, could it actually work? 

I'd appreciate people's opinions on this 😊

• ShepsSheps Posts: 2,221
    Hi @SunFlowerslife I don't have any experience of uPVC greenhouses so can't really help on that front.

When you say exposed, what sort of weather conditions are you speaking of?

If it's strong winds, then I would go for an aluminium greenhouse, mine has been trouble free for the 6 years I have had it.

Hopefully another member will offer some advice on the uPVC variety.

Good luck whichever way you go.
  • BenCottoBenCotto Posts: 4,679