Forum home Plants

Prruning / Cutting back Clematis

I've been told to clip my clematis wirh garden shears instead of cutting  it right back to  almost ground  level. Almost  like clipping the front  of a hedge.
Seems a bit  odd to me but  Im a real beginner when  it comes to gardening etc and  I'd appreciate any advice.
All ther  ''dead'' old growth from  last   year  covers about7 or 8 feet  in width and  is about 6 feet high.
My thanks  in advance  for any help you can  offer.

• FairygirlFairygirl Posts: 54,817
    What type of clematis is it? By that, I don't mean variety - I mean the type as in viticella, alpina etc, or what Group it belongs to  :)
    That will determine the best approach. You can certainly hack many of them back hard, but it really depends on the type as to when you'd do it, and proper pruning is always going to be better than just shearing it indiscriminately. 
    It sounds like it could be a montana or similar, but cutting it back now would mean losing the flowers. A photo would be great too, especially any pix from last year when it was flowering   :)
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

I live in west central Scotland - not where that photo is...

• This is the  only poor  pic  I have of it and it doesnt do the plant  justice when  it was in full bloom  later  on.
    I might add that the majority  of the flowers were the  deep purple colour as shown but as the year progressed  a lot  of much bigger  , more  ornate  , pinky flowers bloomed amoung the  others. It  looked wonderful in my  opinion.
    Hope this helps
  • GardenerSuzeGardenerSuze Posts: 5,625
    edited February 2023
    @detainer I would cut it down to about 18 inches to a foot tall. Your hydrangas are in flower so that would indicate that it flowers in summer or more likely late summer.

Clematis are split into 3 groups.