Forum home Garden design

New Garden - Design help and feedback appreciated

Hello, new member and first post looking for some help with garden design. 
We moved into our house last April which has a nice size but uninspiring garden made up of lawn in the middle with a patio and deck at each end. 
I am a complete amateur but have enjoyed reading and learning some basics about gardening and have really enjoyed it so far. I have tested the soil which is Alkaline chalk and then dug a couple of beds to at least get some plants in ready for this year. I would now like to put a proper plan down so I have a structure to work towards rather than random beds / plants here and there. I have included a couple of photos, 1 is the current garden and 2nd is a design I drew. I would really appreciate any feedback of the design as I have zero experience 
I have young children so need the trampoline and lawn. Plus have added wildlife pond and vegetable beds. 
Thank you. 

• Are you sure you want the compost right next to the patio? Just picturing a summer social gathering. If the trellis on the left is moved slightly further away from the veg beds a bin(s) could be placed behind thus concealing them from view.
    Southampton 
  • NollieNollie Posts: 7,512
    Hello and welcome. You’ve made a fantastic start, looking pretty accomplished already! I like the way the curved paths define the spaces and the trampoline cunningly disguised by hedging.

Personally I would tuck the compost heaps at the back somewhere behind the veg beds, maybe extend the left fork of the path to join up with the yew hedge but that’s just tiny details. Don’t underestimate the amount of garden equipment and tools you will amass so consider storage and work areas - you may find you will quickly outgrow the shed and will need for spaces to tuck stuff such as compost bags, wheelbarrows etc. out of the way.