Forum home Problem solving

Clematis is already forming buds - when would be the ideal time to prune?

Pink678Pink678 EnglandPosts: 168
I'm trying to work out when I should prune my Clematis (group 3 Sally evipo) ideally.

I'm supposed to wait until after the last frost, I think. And to cut back to just above a healthy bud about 30cm from the soil.

But it's already starting to form buds for the past couple of weeks, do I just carry on waiting?

Last year I left it rather late I think (around March), and cut off all the new growth, leaving only 30cm of wood at the bottom. But luckily it bounced back and produced lots of flowers.

I'm pretty new to this and it feels so wrong to cut off lovely new buds, but I guess that's how we are supposed to do it?

I'm in Oxfordshire so quite central. Wondering how to know it's the last frost, or whether to prune before that?

Thank you for any help.

• JennyJJennyJ DoncasterPosts: 7,706
    I would get that done as soon as possible. No need to wait until the last frost, which could be as late as May depending on where you are. The "tradition" is to prune clematis before Valentine's day, but these days they seem to start into growth much earlier than that (here, at least).
  • bédébédé Surrey Hills, acid greensand.Posts: 1,367
    edited 15 January
    Pink678 said:
    I'm supposed to wait until after the last frost, I think. And to cut back to just above a healthy bud about 30cm from the soil.

Stick to the rules.

If you are a bit tentative go for 45cm as a first stab.  Just a tidy up now would reduce damage from winds.

"Have nothing in your garden that you don't know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful."
  • PlantmindedPlantminded Wirral (free draining sandy soil)Posts: 1,754
    I prune my Group 3 Clematis, Etoile Violette once all the leaves have died down in autumn, with no ill effect for the past 10 years.  It depends on your soil and climate though as the old stems and foliage can offer protection over winter.