Forum home Problem solving

Camellia leaf problem

Hi everyone,

I’ve often found this forum useful as a relatively novice (and now hopefully reasonable!) gardener, but this is my first time posting.

I have a camellia that’s about 5 years old now and was repotted after flowering last year. It has developed these odd lesions on the leaves at the top of the plant since last summer (see photo). The leaves at the bottom of the plant look healthy still.
There was a period late last summer where there were tiny bugs underneath some of the leaves - I wasn’t sure but wondered if it was scale insects?

Any thoughts and/or advice would be appreciated!
Thanks, Matt

• UffUff SW Scotland but born in DerbyshirePosts: 3,010
    Did you repot your camellia into ericaceous compost, they like slightly acid to acid soil @drmatthewshaw
    Usually when leaves turn yellow it's because it's over watered or a nutrient deficiency. 
    Did you by any chance take a pic of the bugs you saw last year?
    Welcome to the forum. 
  • Uff said:
    Did you repot your camellia into ericaceous compost, they like slightly acid to acid soil @drmatthewshaw
    Usually when leaves turn yellow it's because it's over watered or a nutrient deficiency. 
    Did you by any chance take a pic of the bugs you saw last year?
    Welcome to the forum. 
    Hi @Uff - thanks

Yes, I repotted in ericaceous compost last year. The leaves at the bottom of the plant look good, nice dark green and healthy. 

Unfortunately I didn’t get a photo of the bugs but there were dozens of them on the underneath of some leaves near the top of the plant. They were tiny, light brown I think, and some of the newer leaves were curling up. Some leaves had loads and others none at all. I can’t find anything similar from googling pests that affect camellias!

Here’s the lower leaves which look healthier…

• bédébédé Surrey Hills, acid greensand.Posts: 1,271