Forum home Garden design

How to plan a garden?

alexemmersonukalexemmersonuk Norwich, Norfolk, UKPosts: 150
Hi all, 
I've been saying I am a beginner for the past two years, but that's still where I feel I am haha! 

This year I want to start planning early and create a summer garden I will love. 

I want to grow LOTS and LOTS and LOTS and LOTS of dahlias. All pink. Light pink, bright pink, magenta, fuchsia, dark pink, almost purple, any shade of pink. 

Last year I tried, but after buying and planting a tuber, I got an enourmous amount of leaves and ONE flower. And I later found out I was suppose to split them or something. 

I know NOTHING about dahlias apart from that I love them and want to have as many as possible this year. 

So, instead of doing yet another google search and get lost on a million side tracks and rabbit holes, I thought I'd ask here any successful dahlia growers their top 3 tips for a successful dahlia garden. 

Assume I know nothing at all, give me your best tips. Where do I start? 

Thanks!! 

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 48,954
    You need the right conditions to over winter them, and you need to make sure they're viable tubers [if you're doing them that way] before planting them,  and then they need the right site and care. 
    They're greedy plants, so need a good growing medium - plenty of food and moisture but good drainage.

Some folk can over winter outdoors with a mulch over them, or similar. In many places that isn't viable. They're not frost hardy, but wet cold is the real killer, so you need to keep them in a good environment after lifting if that's the sort of climate you have. 
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• alexemmersonukalexemmersonuk Norwich, Norfolk, UKPosts: 150
    - Re overwintering them: I have garden fleece, will that be enough? 
    - When you say make sure they are viable tubers, how would I do that please? x
  • ButtercupdaysButtercupdays Posts: 4,288