Forum home Plants

Bare root roses from frozen ground.

thevictorianthevictorian Posts: 724
edited December 2022 in Plants
Hi, I'm not a rose grower outside of the wild type ones but a friend asked me this morning if I it was safe to buy a bare root rose that was frozen solid at the garden centre? I popped in there on my way home and there is no way you'd be able to buy one anyway until the soil thawed out but it also looked very water logged with thick ice patches on the shallow trays.
So would you be happy to buy them when it was thawed out or would you be put off? I gave her my thoughts but I'm still a novice in that area.

I don't know if it matters much but the one rose I can remember she wanted was a ballerina shrub rose. 

• NollieNollie Girona, Catalunya, Northen Spain.Posts: 6,539
    Hmm, I would be wary. Potted roses in the GC will have been root-pruned to fit in those small, thin pots, usually 4-6 litres. The pruned roots and graft union can be vulnerable to frost damage. I buy bare root roses at this time of year and pot them up myself to grow on for planting out next spring. I wrap the pots in insulation, keep them in the unheated poly and throw a fleece over them when the temperatures are below freezing. In other words, I don’t let them freeze, as my winter temps regularly get down to -8. They will be dormant now and just tick over until spring so I really can’t see any benefit of taking the risk. 

She would be better off buying bare root from a reputable online supplier and planting them out, providing her own ground isn’t frozen - better insulation in the soil. Or waiting until the new potted roses are available next Spring if she really wants potted.

Thats just my opinion, other rose growers may differ and say I’m being overcautious!
  • rossdriscoll13rossdriscoll13 Posts: 90
    edited December 2022