Forum home Problem solving

Flushing salts from house plants?

I was reading some information about caring for house plants, and several sources recommend doing a monthly or seasonal flush of the plant to rid the soil of salts or other material buildup.  The idea is you place the plant in it's pot over the sink or some place for drainage (wire rack over a bucket), and give the plant a large amount of water until it is running out of the bottom of the pot.  Wait 10-15 minutes for salts or such to dissolve, then do another deep watering to flush the dissolved things out.  

I've never done this before in my 20 years of house plant growing.  BUT I traditionally grow tough/resilient types of plants, I'm not very good about fertilizing, and I tend to pot up/on as needed.  

As I have progressed in my career over the years, so has my salary.. so I have found myself purchasing every more expensive and potentially sensitive house plants.

Do house plants appreciate having their soil soaked and 'flushed'?  Is it necessary?  I water with city treated water, but let the watering can sit for 24 hours prior to watering my more expensive plants.  Rainwater is not an option.  
Utah, USA.

• PlantmindedPlantminded Wirral (free draining sandy soil)Posts: 1,754
    My instinct is to think that this double flushing may result in some essential nutrients also being flushed out, particularly if you don’t regularly feed your plants.  I use filtered water and this seems to work well with the normal single soak until water runs out of the pot. I also feed my plants during the growing season according to the recommended amounts for each plant.  I think that if you’ve been growing houseplants successfully for 20 years, you’re a proven grower!
  • BenCottoBenCotto RutlandPosts: 4,050