Forum home Problem solving

Changes in Compost

Hello, I'm new to gardening and would love some advice. I live in the West of Scotland.  I planted spring bulbs in pots during Oct/Nov and left them outside. Unfortunately the weather was very wet and as a result I decided to take the containers inside a plastic greenhouse I have. After 2-3 weeks (I have not watered as the compost still feels wet) the compost in a few of the pots has developed a greenish hue. Is this a cause for concern?
I would be very grateful for any advice. 
Many thanks. 

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 82,276
    Without a photo my best guess is that it’s simply an algae or moss … I wouldn’t be concerned … as you say it’s probably because it got  a bit soggy … as long as the pots have good drainage holes it’ll get dryer. You could raise the pots up by putting them on bits of tile or similar (not covering the holes) and this helps drain the excess water more efficiently. 
    If you want the pots to look more attractive(rather than the green algae) you could put a layer of horticultural grit over the surface. 
    😊 
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 49,149
    I've replied on your other thread @francesmckeon21, as has another poster re your greenish hue.
    I'd agree with him and with @Dovefromabove. Grit or fine gravel always looks good and also keeps the plants clean. Rain splashing on open soil/compost is never very great, and certainly get pot feet if the pots are on a hard surface. You don't need to buy them - little offcuts of wood or tile will do the job, as Dove describes.

Uncover them and let the air circulate - you're cosseting them too much  ;)
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• francesmckeon21francesmckeon21 GlasgowPosts: 38