Forum home Problem solving

Laying turf in December. Advice needed.

Hi All. Newbie here.

My front garden is currently landscaped with stones/gravel and I plan to have this removed and have turf laid in mid-late December. The garden landscaper doing the work said it would be fine laying turf at this time of year. They turfed my rear garden in the summer and did a decent job, so I don't have any reason not to believe them.

I Googled whether laying turf in December is okay and the results seemed to indicate it is. However, most of the results were from websites where they sell turf, so the sceptical side of me thinks they would say that! 

It's obviously difficult to predict what the weather will be like 2-3 weeks from now, but currently for the week commencing the 12th we're looking at highs of about 4 and lows of 0 or -1.

Does anyone else have any experience of turf laying at this time of year? Is it a bad idea? Any advice/tips would be much appreciated. Thanks.

• PerkiPerki Rossendale - LancashirePosts: 2,285
    I've laid turf down late / early before , as long as the ground isn't frozen it fine. They probably won't be able to lay turf anyway if the weather changes to frost/wet before its due because turf will not be lifted. Summer is the season turf isn't recommend to be laid mainly due to it drying out .
  • KWNKWN UKPosts: 4
    Perki said:
    I've laid turf down late / early before , as long as the ground isn't frozen it fine. They probably won't be able to lay turf anyway if the weather changes to frost/wet before its due because turf will not be lifted. Summer is the season turf isn't recommend to be laid mainly due to it drying out .

Thanks. I was concerned that the turf wouldn't root into the soil properly when the temperature is that low.
  • fidgetbonesfidgetbones Derbyshire but with a Nottinghamshire postcode. Posts: 16,457
    I'd wait until March. Apparently we are due a beast from the East.