Forum home Problem solving

Will my ivy recover?

Hello, this is my first time posting here - I need some advice from experienced gardeners! I have a local holiday cottage and we asked the fellow who does our hedges at home to do a winter tidy up. 

We have a variegated ivy in a big tub by the backdoor. It looked lovely, was not in anyone's way, and covered an ugly fence panel. I headed up there yesterday and found this - he has taken it right back to the trellise. I'm a little bit gutted - even if this was the 'right' thing to do, it's very ugly for our guests!

Could anyone advise whether this will grow back (two big thick stems at the base seem to be intact) and more importantly how long it will take to look nice again - if we're going to have that awful woody/rotten look for ages, I think we'd prefer to remove everything and start again (given it's a holiday cottage, so appearance is paramount). Also, if we are to keep it, should we similarly cut back the ivy he's left at the top of the fence? Will that stay alive? Is there a gardening reason he's done that? (it's possible he left it as we were clear not to do anything that would impact our neighbours).

Thank you in advance for all advice!

• Fran IOMFran IOM Posts: 2,212

No doubt you will have some answers and advice soon.  :)
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 48,932
    edited November 2022
    It'll grow back if there's still roots at the base, but it will take a while - and by that I mean a year or so possibly, depending on the variety and how healthy it is. 
    You can certainly take off the top stuff as it isn't doing anything useful, if anything - it's making it look worse. No idea why he would do that. If it isn't actually attached to a growing root/stem, it won't survive anyway.
    Bear in mind that if you remove it, anything you put in won't instantly look good unless you buy a mature specimen f some kind - a shrub or similar.