Forum home Problem solving

White mold in raised oak flower beds

Hello,

Earlier this year I made a few raised oak flower beds out of oak sleepers.

All was well until I bought some mulch that was slightly contaminated with white mold/ fungus. I didn't think much at the time and went ahead and used it.

However after a few weeks I wasn't happy with the stringy appearence the mulch, so replaced it with some large pine mulch which looks much better. However after the recent wet weather I noticed what I believe to be white spores/ mold that has formed on the oak sleepers and on the new mulch. Which I think is from the old mulch.

I will attach some pictures.

Does anyone know of any good white mold killer for use in the garden, that wont damage the plants or soil? Or anything that looks like it could remove these white spores, as I am no expert in plant/ fungal microbiology.

Any appropriate feedback is appreciated.

Thanks,

Antony

• Pete.8Pete.8 Billericay, EssexPosts: 9,867
    It's probably a slime mould or similar - quite natural and harmless and live on dead plant material.
    Enjoy it's weird beauty while it lasts, or you could brush it off if you don't like the look of it.
    Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
    Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad.
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 82,251
    I agree with @Pete.8 … it’s doing no harm, it’s part of the wonderful variety nature gives us, and will disappear on its own as magically as it appeared. 

Nothing to worry about 😊 
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• Thanks for your feedback, thats good to hear its nothing to worry about
  • bédébédé Surrey Hills, acid greensand.Posts: 1,366
    edited November 2022
    I can't see any problem in your pics.  But I know what you mean.  With a bit of dry weather, I believe it will soon fade away (maybe a repeat next year).