Forum home Garden design

Nature-scaping?

I've been wanting to remove a front and back lawn for quite a while now. My front lawn is north-east facing and always a struggle to keep healthy- although it is bordered with a lot of happy healthy shrubs, established plants etc. The rear is South-west and quite large and on a hill. 

I am not a novice at gardening, but think this will be quite a large undertaking. 

My plan is to remove the lawns entirely and completely fill the space with plants. I currently have borders packed and mixed with plants, and a side garden the same, however these have established over many years. 

I will need to ensure there is a path and access, especially in the back garden. I don't want it to be a jungle, but a natural looking garden that whilst needing maintenance, can also manage on its own. 

I guess what I was needing the real help with was: is there a rule on how to decide on plants? I don't want it to be just soil in winter. It's a blank canvas at the moment aside from the lawn - so when I begin I want to do some planning e.g. bulb planting, path layout, shrubs high and low. Perhaps something which will trail across the ground, but not lawn, but can manage some level of walking over. 

For the rear South/West garden are there trees I can plant that won't grow huge, and root systems are fairly contained? 

Would there be shrubs/plants etc which will work well together, and not fight. I'm a big fan of grasses. I love Alliums, wallflowers, dahlias and ferns. Not fussed about different colours put against each other, as like it as natural as possible. I also want to take the opportunity to get a few insect 'houses' put in there.

I know plants are very forgiving but don't want to make a big no-no, and want to lessen the chance of that before I get started. 

Any help, thoughts or ideas would be appreciated!

• LoxleyLoxley Posts: 5,686