Forum home Problem solving

Bay Tree beginner

4 weeks ago I bought a young bay tree and have it potted by the front door. I’ve followed the various online advice as closely as possible but admit to being a total newbie in the world of gardening so need some more specific advice please.

I’ve started to notice small holes in the leaves; I know from online research there are a couple of likely causes but there are no signs at all of any sort of insect, fungus or anything else for that matter.

I’ve pruned the effected leaves as instructed so the image won’t show a great deal but this evening I also noticed what looks like signs of eaten leaves as shown in the picture.

is there anything else I should be doing/thinking about to try and give this young bay tree the best chance of survival in the hands of a novice gardener? Thank you in advance 

• PosyPosy Isle of Wight.Posts: 3,442
    You always get a bit of nibbling. I wouldn't worry unless the tree appears to be suffering and, personally, I wouldn't cut bits off while it's  so young.

It's hard to tell from the picture but I wonder if your pot is big enough and what compost are you growing it in?

Bays hate strong, cold wind and cannot take prolonged frost or freezing. They like a bit of shade and a bit of sun and plenty of water when it's hot. Otherwise, they are very easy to please and no trouble at all. I feed mine about once every 2-3 weeks in Spring and summer.
  • ef1990ef1990 Posts: 4
    Hi Posy, thanks for your reply. Some good points and useful info. I think I was just concerned that I’d only had the tree for a month and already noticing signs, I’ll keep an eye on it and just make sure the trees looked after properly.

I definitely need to re-pot you’re right; I was told not to do that until the temperature dropped though just in case it shocked the tree so I’m hanging on until the end of the month. It’s fed and watered so should still be ok for a while