Forum home Problem solving

Pelargonium not very happy

sharanshrubssharanshrubs Maidenhead, UKPosts: 42
I have this pelargonium in ceramic glazed pot. Was doing very well even before drought. Never had pelargoniums before...im a beginner.
Full sun. Multipurpose compost with grit. I water every 3 days approx and let it dry out between watering. Deadhead daily too.

Leaves are turning red and wilting.
I dont think if alyssum is good companion as it likes moist soil?
Root rot?
Wrong soil?
Wrong pot?
Poor drainage?

What would you suggest growing in these ceramic glazed pots in full sun exposed on my patio? I would like something with a bit of height if possible and long flowering period.

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 47,159
    It's quite normal for foliage to change colour, so I wouldn't be worried about that.
    I'd take out the other stuff though. It doesn't look happy. 
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• GardenerSuzeGardenerSuze I garden in South Notts on an improved clay soil Posts: 1,982
    @sharanshrubs I think your pelargonium looks fine. You could remove the tiny dead bits on the flowers if you really want to, this will keep it looking tidy but not necessary. When each flower goes over cut back the stem too. This will help more flowers to form.

Pelargoniums need very little water although last weeks weather was a challenge. Personally I like to see them in a pot on their own and not with other plants they just look better.  They are known as the best plant to grow when you go away as they can cope with very little water. Red in the leaf colour may be the heat, or if it is at the base of the plant it could be an old leaf that needs trimming off.

You say you would like some planting ideas, are you thinking of annuals or something more permanant? Not sure your pot is big enough for supporting a plant long term. Also not all glazed pots are frost proof.
  • sharanshrubssharanshrubs Maidenhead, UKPosts: 42