Forum home Plants

Sorry for intruding

YviestevieYviestevie Posts: 7,043
I don't normally post on here but I am having a real problem with blackspot this year.  I have load of roses but it's not normally a problem.  Is it a particularly bad year or am I just unlucky.  They have been fed, well watered and mulched.  I even clear away any old leaves in late winter/early spring.  
Hi from Kingswinford in the West Midlands

• LiriodendronLiriodendron Posts: 8,025
    You're not intruding @Yviestevie - you're welcome here!   :)
    I think wet and warm is what blackspot spores like... in fact, that's ideal conditions for a lot of fungal infections.  I'd guess you've just been unlucky with the weather, if you've not been doing anything different from usual.  I'm by no means a rose expert though, so perhaps @Nollie might see this and comment...

Since 2019 I've lived in east Clare, in the west of Ireland.
  • FireFire Posts: 17,116
    Why would you be intruding?
  • @Yviestevie , I don't have a lot of roses, and all my plants are in pots outside---but this year I have a lot of blackspot and other fungal diseases vs normal ( ie not just on roses). If it is any consolation, I volunteer at some of the Royal Parks and they too seem to be suffering worse than normal , so you are not alone! 
    Kindness is always the right choice.
  • NollieNollie Posts: 7,051
    You are very welcome Yviestevie, that’s why we are all here, to help each other..

It seems to be a bad year for fungal diseases all-round this year and changeable weather has really not helped at all. So welcome to the rest of the black spot club, I am a very active member! Keeping good airflow around roses with nothing overhanging them helps and picking off the worst leaves, but tbh, once you’ve got it, it’s hard to get rid of as the spores float around..
    Mountainous Northern Catalunya, Spain. Hot summers, cold winters.
  • YviestevieYviestevie Posts: 7,043