Forum home Plants

Save the dwarf conifer.

laney_1208laney_1208 Posts: 1
Evening all
I am after a little help if possible 
I am very new to gardening and have previously been a 'plant it, leave it, and hope for the best' kind of girl. Unfortunately my best was never good enough and everything always ended up dying.
Anyway....I've recently discovered I may actually have green fingers after all with my veg which is doing amazing, however I have 3 dwarf conifers (I think anyway) which I have in a border. The ground isn't great in terms of it's quite clay-y, and doesn't drain well on the lawn. 
The conifers I have noticed are getting very light in colour, like almost yellow and brown in some places, and they are extremely prickly to touch. Have I done it again and killed them or can I revive them?
Any help appreciated...sorry for the ramble. 😁

• GardenerSuzeGardenerSuze Posts: 4,222
    @laney-1208 It's difficult to see without an actual photo but conifers that are yellow and brown are probably on their way out sorry to say. You must not feel too dishearted, we gardeners are always learning.

Gardening starts with the soil before anything else, you say you have clay. In winter it can be too wet, in summer too dry plants becomes stressed and suffer. So improving your soil is the most important thing you can do.  Hoping for the best is not really an option new plants need water and care until they establish.

I am so pleased you are enjoying your veg growing. This is new to me too, just planted far too many lettuce seeds in one pot, as I say always learning. Welcome.
    RETIRED GARDENER, SOUTH NOTTS, SOIL.

A good gardener's eye sees more to be improved. Robin Lane Fox
  • GravelEaterGravelEater Posts: 117
    As the above comment says an image would be useful.