Forum home Problem solving

New to this - help identifying and next steps

Hi all,

I'm new to gardening and we have a patch in the bank garden which I'm hoping to clear and use to play some beautiful coloured plants, flowers etc. However, I don't really know what I have here so I thought I'd upload some images to see what are weeds, what needs moving and what I can keep. After that, I think I'll put together a plan for how to begin clearing it all and creating something beautiful (hopefully). Thanks for reading and any advice I receive.

Lee.

• AnniDAnniD Posts: 9,555
    edited 14 May
    Welcome to the forum Lee :)

Photo number 2 (with the strappy leaves), l think is a carex. Personally l would dig it out ASAP, it can be a bit of a thug.
    Photos 3 and 6 (spiky leaves) is Mahonia.
    Photo 4 looks like an oak sapling, l would get that out ASAP as well.
    Just to say, it helps if you number the photos, but l think l have them right
  • B3B3 Posts: 21,416
    Lee, could you number your photos. It will make identification much easier.
    Click on the icon on the right that looks like a flower  and you can edit your post
    In London. Keen but lazy.
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 46,064
    There's Astrantia an da load of oak saplings - probably other tree saplings too.
    Very awkward to ID for the reasons given - single photos of one plant is easier, or a close up of flowers/foliage, and one from a distance, and not too many in one thread  :)

Mahonia  - yes, and a load of cow parsley in the last photo. Crocosmia and nettles in various pix.
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• Pete.8Pete.8 Billericay, EssexPosts: 8,495
    edited 14 May
    1st pic is either a Japanese Anemone or a hardy Geranium
    If it's a Japanese anemone it'll flower around June/July
    If it's a geranium it'll flower in the next few weeks. It'll probably be a pink variety.

Pic 5 is an oak sapling and just next to it could be a peony