Forum home Plants

Can anyone help identify these brown spots on my wisteria?

As per the title. I bought a wisteria (American I think, amethyst falls) and repotted it into a larger container. It has new growth but I’m seeing a lot of the leaves curl, go brown at the tips and some of them are displaying this speckled look. Any tips would be appreciated as I’m a complete novice. I’ve been watering once a week when it’s dry weather and feeding every week or two with a generic food. I’ve only had the plant for 4 weeks.

• ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 28,567
    It looks droopy so I think it's thirsty.   Wisterias are best planted in the ground where they can send their roots down deep to seek out moisture and nutrients.   In a pot as small as that one it will always be hungry and often thirsty.
    "We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw
  • JessicaSJessicaS East Midlands, UKPosts: 663
    I agree looks thirsty, will need a good soak and more frequent watering, daily in the hot weather like weve been having recently.
  • ruth.sax.simpsonruth.sax.simpson Posts: 4
    edited May 2022
    See, when I first noticed the leaves I’d been watering more frequently as I had just potted it. The soil was definitely moist to the touch. And I googled and saw that wisteria hate being soggy and that it may well be over watered (it can droop when overwatered too). So I’m really not sure what to do with it. Also, I live in Scotland so it’s not particularly warm here. The speckled leaves have me concerned that it’s got some sort of bug/disease issue too. 

The pot is bigger than it looks. I don’t have much garden space and would ideally keep it in a pot, but if it 100% needs earth I could look at making some space perhaps. 

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 82,240