Forum home Problem solving

blueberry plant browning / falling flowers

hi, i am quite new to the gardening world.

i am looking for some advice. I have 2 blueberry plants in grow bags, both are in ericacheous compost, one is Alvar variety the other is mini blue.

They have both been treated the same, but unforunately the Alvar one seems to be taking a turn for the worst; yet the other one is thriving.

Can anyone identify the issue with this here? Before, it was nice white flowers all over, but now a lot have started falling off (wind?) , or they are looking like they are browning and dying. It doesn't look well.

• Pete.8Pete.8 Billericay, EssexPosts: 8,545
    Can you see tiny berries left where the petals have gone?
    My Patriot blueberry has now lost most of its flowers but there are plenty of tiny berries beginning to form.
    My other 2 are still in flower
    Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
    Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad.
  • BenCottoBenCotto RutlandPosts: 3,613

• dean25800dean25800 Posts: 3
    thanks for quick response, pete!

i'm unsure, i'm quite new to this, but to me it looks like theyre dying.

here's a closer look.

• ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 27,600
    First of all, if you can, move the two blueberries to their own pot with drainage holes and with all their compost and roots.   If you've used ordinaty grow bags, take the opportunity to replace as much of the compost as possible with ericaceous John Innes no 3 type mixed with up to a third ericaceous multi-purpose compost for moisture retention.    They'll thus be less prone to being waterlogged and also fried in summer.