Forum home Problem solving

New Turf Help

Hello,
I am new to gardening and do not have much of a clue! 

I recently got a contractor to put turf in our garden. It was levelled before the turf went down. This was 6 days ago and looked fine. 

Gradually it has started to change colour and massive patches are now tan in colour and look a bit dead. 

I have watered it every day and have a sprinkler so not sure if i’m missing something. 

Can anyone assist with the solution?

• JennyJJennyJ DoncasterPosts: 6,104
    How long are you leaving the sprinkler on each section for? If you've had the kind of dry and windy weather that we've had, it probably needs about an hour. The water needs to get right through the turf and into the soil below. I'm assuming the contractor tamped it down properly to get good contact between the roots and the soil.
  • GeorgeMGeorgeM Posts: 4
    Thank you for replying. 

The sprinkler is left on for twenty minutes per section. That’s after I’ve watered the entire turf for around 30 mins. We’ve had the same weather, warm and dry with no rain unfortunately!

I’m not too sure so I can only assume so too unless there’s a way to check. The one part I lifted to see underneath was done easily if that makes a difference. 

It’s very patchy so not sure if it’s dead or will come back to life
  • WilderbeastWilderbeast East YorkshirePosts: 1,311
    Turf needs water, water and more water. Best done on an evening to reduce evaporation.
  • GeorgeMGeorgeM Posts: 4
    Thank you. 

I’m hoping it rains soon but I don’t think it’s forecasted. 

Should I be worried about overwatering at all? 
  • WilderbeastWilderbeast East YorkshirePosts: 1,311
    You'll have a job over watering that, it's going brown so needs loads of water and pretty regular too
  • AnniDAnniD Posts: 9,615
    I think you'll be fine watering as suggested above :)